Nager re-elected to second term as USGA president

10:18 PM, Feb 2, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

San Diego, CA (Sports Network) - The United States Golf Association re-elected Glen D. Nager to a second one-year term as the association's president.

Nager, of Washington, D.C., is the 62nd president of the USGA.

"I am honored to serve another year as the president of the USGA, and to continue to work with our talented staff, dedicated volunteers and Executive Committee members," said the 54-year-old Nager. "Golf continues to face complex challenges on a global level. As the game's co-governing body worldwide, it is our obligation to focus on areas that make the game better and that are necessary to sustain the game well into the future."

The election of officers and the 15-member Executive Committee also took place at the USGA's annual meeting in San Diego.

Nager, himself a single-digit handicapper, is in year five as a member of the USGA Executive Committee, which included two years as the USGA's vice president.

At the meeting, the following four members were tabbed to serve as officers - Thomas J. O'Toole Jr. and Daniel B. Burton as vice presidents; William L. Katz as secretary; and Diana M. Murphy as treasurer. The other six members of the Executive Committee will continue their service.

Peter M. Castleman, C. Malcolm Holland III, Sheila C. Johnson and Mark E. Newell were elected as new members on the Executive Committee for the year. On top of that, Ernest J. Getto was tabbed as USGA general counsel.

Those four replace Christie L. Austin, Gene McClure, James B. Williams and Geoffrey Y. Yang, who all retired at the meeting.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos