LIVE VIDEO: 11 Alive News at Noon    Watch
 

Twitter reactions to Lance Armstrong's interview with Oprah

8:59 AM, Jan 18, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

(USA Today) -- Oprah Winfrey's interview Thursday with Lance Armstrong seemed tailor-made for Twitter.

Armstrong admitted off the bat that he had doped during all seven of his Tour de France victories, and Twitter users let loose on the cyclist (and Oprah) for the following 90 minutes.

The second part of the interview is set to air Friday, but we've collected the best reaction to hit the web in 140-character bursts.

Check out the highlights here:

Cyclist and former Armstrong teammate Jonathan Vaughters @Vaughters: "A good first step. I need to sleep."

Author of Lance Armstrong book "Seven Deadly Sins" David Walsh @DavidWalshST: "First reaction is Oprah began the interview brilliantly with her series of 'yes or no' questions. It felt good to hear him admit to doping."

U.S. Women's Soccer Team forward Alex Morgan @alexmorgan13: "Just wasted an hour and half of my life doing what probably half of Americans just did #annoyed"

IndyCar driver Rahal Graham @GrahamRahal: "Watching Lance's interview. Man, like so many this guy was a hero. Guess I can take his signed TDF worn jersey off my wall."

Television host Piers Morgan @piersmorgan: "What a snivelling, lying, cheating little wretch @lancearmstrong revealed himself to be tonight. I hope he now just disappears. #LiveWrong"

Tennis player Serena Williams @serenawilliams: "Wow. Watching @Oprah interview. Just WOW"

Sports On Earth writer Joe Posnanski: "Lance: 'So, be honest with me, how am I doing?' Twitter: 'Um, well, I'd have to say not super great.'"

Comedian Rob Delaney @robdelaney: "Perhaps most devastating is that Lance Armstrong's subscription to 'O' will be revoked."

Track runner, Olympian Nick Symmonds @NickSymmonds: "Yeah that's probably enough of Lance for one night. Some of us will actually get up early and put in the hard, honest work. #CleanSport"

Los Angeles Daily News columnist Jill Painter @jillpainter: "Been watching the @lancearmstrong interview with #oprah, and in the first 17 minutes, he said sorry once, and it was in passing. #hardtosay"

Filmmaker/actor/author Albert Brooks @albertbrooks: "When I rode tandem with Lance Armstrong I was on nothing."

ESPN NFL business analyst and NFL columnist Andrew Brandt @adbrandt: "Lance 'I controlled every outcome of my life.' Including, he hopes, this one."

Writer/executive producer Eric Stangel @ericstangel: "I mean seriously, how are you expected to remember all of the people you've sued? #LanceArmstrong"

Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira @teixeiramark25: "Watching @Oprah and @lancearmstrong interview. No matter the topic, Oprah is a darn good interviewer. Good TV."

Golfer Paul Azinger @PaulAzinger: "Lance Armstrong just called himself Lance. Wow. Why am I watching this?"

Comedian Neal Brennan @nealbrennan: "And Armstrong regains the lead over Manti Te'o!"

Former tennis player Andy Roddick @andyroddick: "Seriously????? Part 2??? Wtf??? Terrible and genius of Oprah all at the same time"

(USA Today)

Most Watched Videos