8-team HBCU tournament to be held in Atlanta

6:12 PM, Mar 5, 2013   |    comments
(Getty Images file)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA -- The inaugural Historically Black Colleges and Universities Tip-Off Championship, featuring eight teams from the four HBCU conferences, has been scheduled for Nov. 7-11.

NBA Hall of Famer Sam Jones, a graduate of North Carolina Central University, helped announce the new tournament on Tuesday. Atlanta's Morehouse College was announced as one of the teams. Proceeds will benefit the Morehouse School of Medicine.

The tournament, to be held at Philips Arena, home of the NBA Hawks, is designed to have seven new teams each year. Only the defending champion will be invited to return.

The tournament will include Division I and Division II teams. Each team will play three games. A Division II team will play a Division I team only in the title or consolation game.

Most Watched Videos