DeKalb County names Teacher of the Year

5:44 PM, Aug 20, 2012   |    comments
Mr. Joe Louis Floyd II, photo courtesy Salem Middle School
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

STONE MOUNTAIN, Ga. -- Salem Middle School teacher Joe Louis Floyd II was announced as the 2012 DeKalb County Teacher of the Year on Saturday at the Thalia Carlos Hellenic Center.

Four district-wide finalists were up for the honor, including Floyd, Elizabeth Jean King of Sagamore Hills Elementary, José Alberto Gregory from DeKalb School of the Arts and Kerra Taniyika Crowe of the DeKalb Transition/Alternative School.

All four teachers were given a Dell Latitude Notebook and printer as a prize.

Floyd was also awarded with an official ring from Jostens, $1,000 from ING Direct, a membership to the Organization of Professional Educators, Georgia Educators Association and National Education Association, a classroom library makeover courtesy to Scholastic and a $100 gift card from the Professional Association of Georgia Educators.  

"We are incredibly proud not only of Mr. Floyd, but also of our nearly 7,000 teachers in DeKalb County who commit themselves to the great calling of educating our children," said Superintendent Dr. Cheryl Atkinson.

Most Watched Videos