No More Warnings for Texting While Driving

10:10 AM, Aug 2, 2010   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA -- Sunday marked the end of a 30-day grace period as state troopers began to write citations instead of warnings for drivers caught violating one of Georgia's two new texting laws.

The two new texting laws went into effect on July 1, but the Georgia State Patrol wanted to give drivers time to learn the new rules and change their habits.

One law bans teens from talking or texting on a cell phone while driving.

The other law impacts everyone by making it illegal for anyone to write or read a text or an e-mail or even surf the web on your cell phone if you're behind the wheel.

The law applies if you're stuck in heavy traffic or stopped at a red light.

Troopers admit enforcing the law will be tough.

"Is it impossible? No," said Major Mark McDonough of the Georgia State Patrol. "It's going to require the trooper to do some observation in order to develop the reason why he pulls them over."

A citation will cost $150 plus a point on your driving record. 

Associated Press

Most Watched Videos