2006 CSA Recipients

8:06 AM, Feb 26, 2015   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

11Alive will celebrate the 31st anniversary of the 11Alive Community Service Awards, April 11, 2006. The Community Service Awards will be broadcast April 15 at 7:30pm on 11Alive.Each year the Community Service Awards honors eleven outstanding local volunteers who have demonstrated selfless devotion for the betterment of the community. 11Alive News Anchors Brenda Wood and Wes Sarginson host the prime time telecast and the proceeds go to charity. This year the dinner/telecast will benefit Special Olympics Georgia.

The 2006 Community Service Awards recipients are:

Paula K. Beville, Ph. D., for founding Second Wind Dreams, an organization to better the lives of elderly citizens living in nursing homes. Charity: Second Wind

Melanie McGill Arrington and Jo Orr , of Elm Street Elementary School in Rome, for their continuing efforts to teach their students the importance of giving back to the community.
Charity: Elm Street Elementary School, Rome, Ga.

Sonny Emory, for giving his time and talent to mentor and to raise funds for the drum line of his alma mater, Frederick Douglas High School.
Charity: Frederick Douglass High School Drumline

Edith Harvey, for years of service preparing meals for seniors at the Lawrenceville Senior Center and Lawrenceville Housing Authority.
Charity: Gwinnett County Senior Services
American Cancer Society

Mark Kanov, for his work with the Adaptive Learning Center, Cradle of Love and the March of Dimes.
Charity: Adaptive Learning Center
March of Dimes
Cradle of Love, Jewish Family and Career Services

Andy Lipman, for his fund raising efforts and involvement in the Cystic Fibrosis Georgia Chapter.
Charity: Cystic Fibrosis "Wish for Wendy"

Frances Reeves, for her many years of service to the Fayette County community and United Way.
Charity: Fayette County Senior Services

Logan Smalley, for volunteering with physically and mentally challenged children and for the project Darius Goes West.
Charity: Charley's Fund

Alfred F. Specht, Jr., for his guidance and leadership as the President of Community Health Charities of Georgia.
Charity: Community Health Charities of Georgia

Raul F. Trujillo, for his continued and varied service to the St. Vincent de Paul Society.
Charity: St. Vincent de Paul Society

Boisfeuillet Jones Award John Wieland
For a life of business and community leadership, including founding John Wieland Homes and Neighborhoods in 1970. John served on the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta for six years, chairing the Board for four years. He has served on the Board of the High Museum of Art since 1988, chairing the Board for three years. He is past Chairman of the Advisory Council for the Emory University Center for Ethics, and a former board member of Habitat for Humanity International. He currently serves on the Piedmont Hospital Foundation Board as well as the Executive Committee of the Atlanta Chamber of Commerce and is Treasurer of the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Board of Trustees in Washington, DC.
Charity: Atlanta Union Mission

Most Watched Videos