Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014 named

3:39 PM, Oct 23, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA -- The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2014 on Wednesday. The seven new members were selected from a list of 25 finalists.

The selection committee is made up of black college football sports writers, analysts and commentators Chairman Roscoe Nance, Donald Hunt, Ty Miller, Charlie Neal and Lloyd Vance; former NFL general managers Ernie Accorsi and Gil Brandt; long-time NFL scouts Charles Bailey and Charles Garcia; director of the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture Lonnie Bunch; and historian Michael Hurd.

PHOTOS | The Good, the Bad & the Ugly of College Football uniforms

The new inductees include players Robert Brazile (Jackson State Univeristy), Leroy Kelley (Morgan State University), John Stallworth (Alabama A&M University), Michael Strahan (Texas Southern University), Willie Totten (Mississippi Valley State University), Doug Wilkerson (North Carolina Central University); and coach Marino Casem (Alcorn State University).

The Class of 2014 will be honored at the Fifth Annual Enshrinement Ceremony, presented by the Atlanta Falcons on March 1, 2014 at the Loews Hotel in Atlanta.

"The history of Black College Football is compelling and must be shared," said Atlanta Falcons Owner & Chairman Arthur Blank. "We are proud to support the Black College Football Hall of Fame, and we congratulate the Class of 2014."

The Black College Football Hall of Fame serves to honor notable and influential players and coaches who attended or were part of the staffs at historically black colleges and universities. Since the Hall's inception in 2010, 44 members have been inducted and more than $172,000 in scholarships have been awarded to students at HBCUs. The Hall was founded by black quarterback NFL pioneers James 'Shack' Harris and Super Bowl XXII MVP Doug Williams. 

Most Watched Videos